Spiral tunnel towards light

Announcing this Summer's Faculty Awards

We are delighted for the College of Letters and Science faculty who won awards this summer. 

The History Project at UC Davis and Professor of Art History Heghnar Zeitlian Watenpaugh have both received awards from the National Endowment for the Humanities. In an article on the UC Davis College of Letters and Science blog, Jeffrey Day explains that “[t]he History Project provides professional learning for teachers in the greater Sacramento region by bringing together scholars and teachers to improve history-social science education.” Professor and Department Chair of Asian American Studies Robyn Rodriguez will be the academic director and co-director of a workshop alongside History Project director Stacey Greer. Watenpaugh’s NEH grant will facilitate her public scholarship on the medieval Armenian city of Ani. For more on Watenpaugh’s understanding of “imagined memories, what it means to call a historical site ‘timeless’ and how places can hold great meaning for people even when they are unable to visit them in person,” see this article for the Manetti Shrem by DHI graduate student researcher Lindsay Baltus. 

Erica Kohl-Arenas, faculty director of the Imagining America consortium based here at UC Davis and Associate Professor of American Studies, has received a Freedom Scholars Initiative award of $250,000. These awards support academics working for justice for two years. 

UC Davis Professor of History and Director of the Hemispheric Institute of the Americas Charles Walker has been awarded a $50,000 grant from the UCLA Library’s Modern Endangered Archives Program (MEAP) to digitize the endangered archive of the Confederación Campesina de Perú (CCP), or the Peruvian Peasants’ Archive. This research will fill a gap in Peruvian history. 

Associate Professor of English Tiffany Werth and co-investigators Bronwen Wilson (UCLA) and Lyle Massey (UC Irvine) have been awarded a University of California Humanities Research Institute (UCHRI) Multicampus Faculty Working Group grant for Sea: An Environmental Humanities Network. To join the Sea reading group, and for updates on the project, visit the Oecologies website

UC Davis professors have been awarded two other UCHRI Engaging Humanities Grants. Professor of and Director of Human Rights Studies Keith Watenpaugh has received a grant for Genocide and Human Rights Studies for Twenty-First Century Californians: Summer Institutes for High School Educators. Associate Professor and Chair of American Studies Grace Wang and Associate Professor of Cinema and Digital Media Julie Wyman have been granted one for their project Instrumental: The Elayne Jones Story.

Congratulations to our scholars!


Primary Category